“Catch the Rabbit” Selected for Indies Introduce

“Catch the Rabbit” has been selected for the Indies Introduce debut picks of the season in the USA. Two panels of booksellers chose the Indies Introduce titles—10 adult and 10 children’s—as the best of the Summer / Fall 2021 debuts. Publishers offer special terms on these books just for participating indie booksellers.

Here is what the booksellers who nominated it had to say about the novel:

“Amazing, heart-wrenching, wondrous. A years-spanning story of an intense friendship and how history (you know, wars and stuff) weighs on people's bonds. More than a decade ago, Sara left Bosnia, never to return. Now, drawn back by a long-lost childhood friend, she’s on a road trip through the Western Balkans, her own past, and a landscape scarred by social and political violence. Bastašić wrestles questions of obligation and understanding into one woman’s deeply personal reckoning. What do we owe the people who’ve shaped us, who taught us how to feel alive? What we know (and un-know) of our friends, our histories, and ourselves? It’s a story of how a person can misunderstand her friend and herself and then be completely wrecked and rebuilt as she grows to a new understanding of her world. Prepare to be split in two. WOW!” -Chris Lee, Boswell Book Company, Milwaukee, WI

“Sara and Lejla remind us that slipping back into an old friendship is the most comfortable and impossible thing to do. With too much shared and not enough spoken, Catch the Rabbit holds the truth of how growing up and coming of age are two separate events, neither of which anyone really does with grace, or without pain.” -Carrie Koepke, Skylark Bookshop, Columbia, MO

“A compelling story about a complex female friendship. Two estranged friends go on a Thelma and Louise-style road trip across Bosnia in search of one friend's brother (presumed dead from the Bosnian War). For readers of Ferrante's Neapolitan Quartet and any who has had intense childhood friendships.” -Audrey Huang, Belmont Books, Belmont, MA

Saša Stanišić Reviews “Fang den Hasen” for Die Zeit

Lejla und Sara sind unterwegs, in einem maroden Opel Astra über den Balkan, mit Wien als Ziel. Sie überqueren die Grenze nach Österreich und rasten an einem See. Am Ufer spielen zwei Mädchen, auf jene versunkene Weise in ihre Kindheit vertieft, die ahnen lässt: Die Freude und Unbeschwertheit werden kippen, das Spiel wird kippen, etwas verloren gehen, vernichtet werden. – KEEP READING HERE

OUT NOW: German Edition of “Catch the Rabbit”

S. Fischer Verlag have just brought out the German edition of the novel “Catch the Rabbit”, translated by Rebekka Zeinzinger and edited by Teresa Puetz.

»Eine europäische Literatur, [die] vollbringt, was hervorragende Literatur vollbringen sollte – uns hoffen lassen, dass sich Wunder erfüllen. Lana Bastašićs Geschichten müssen erzählt werden.« Saša Stanišić

FULL REVIEW IN GERMAN

Als junge Mädchen waren sie unzertrennlich, obwohl sie gegensätzlicher nicht sein könnten: Lejla, die Schamlose, Unbändige. Sara, die besonnene Tochter des Polizeichefs. Eine zwiespältige Nähe aus Befremden und Anziehung. Eine außergewöhnliche Freundschaft, die plötzlich zerfiel wie das Land, in dem sie aufwuchsen. 12 Jahre ist es her, als Sara Bosnien verließ, um an einem besseren Ort ein neues Leben zu beginnen. 12 Jahre absoluter Funkstille, als ein Anruf sie in die verlorene Heimat zurückbringt. Die Rückkehr wird kein harmloses Wiedersehen zweier Kindheitsfreundinnen.
Mit einer fesselnden Sprache zwischen rebellischem Trotz und beißender Komik erzählt Bosniens aufregender Literatur-Shootingstar Lana Bastašić in »Fang den Hasen« von einer außergewöhnlichen Freundschaft in den Wirren der jugoslawischen Geschichte – ausgezeichnet mit dem Literaturpreis der Europäischen Union 2020.

NOVO IZDANJE “UHVATI ZECA”

Beogradska izdavačka kuća “Booka” objavila je novo uređeno izdanje romana “Uhvati zeca” zajedno sa pogovorom autorke. Knjiga je dostupna na sajtu izdavača.

Blurbovi:


Lana Bastašić jedna je od rijetkih autorica koja na međunarodnu i domaće književne scene dolazi iz bivše Jugoslavije. Bastašić pritom književno nadmašuje svoje globalno razvikane inozemne i svoje lokalne vršnjakinje po zrelosti svoga romanesknog pisma, po autentičnom spisateljskom glasu, po specifičnoj energiji pripovijedanja i, što je najvažnije, po visokim književnim standardima koje je, već sa svojim debitantskim romanom Uhvati zeca, postavila sebi, a onda i drugima. Iako je prvo izdanje romana najavljeno kao “prvi roman u našoj književnosti o ženskom prijateljstvu“, Bastašić ne pripada ni “našoj“ književnosti niti pak pripovjedačkom “brandu” slavne Elene Ferrante, u što bi je, usput rečeno, svi tako rado svrstali. Lana Bastašić je svoja. Ima li u današnje vrijeme većeg književnog komplimenta?   — Dubravka Ugrešić



Pronašla je Lana Bastašić, poigravajući se slavnim književnim motivima, skrivenim i manje skrivenim referencama, sopstvenu perspektivu i napisala hrabar, sjajan roman, svojevrsno obećanje da će narednom svojom knjigom da ponudi još više i još bolje. A to je već đavolski visoko. — Ivan Milenković


Uhvati zeca je suptilna, kompleksna, nežna i izuzetno pametna priča o našem vremenu koja će nadam se postati lektira. — Rumena Bužarovska