“Afferra il coniglio” wins Premio Latisana per il Nordest

“Catch the Rabbit” has won the International Latisana per il Nordest prize in Italy. The Italian edition was published by Nutrimenti edizioni and translated by Elisa Copetti. The prize was awarded on September 11 ex aequo to Lana Bastašić for “Catch the Rabbit” and Paolo Malaguti for “Se l'acqua ride”. These two novels beat 65 titles and made it to the top.

In an official statement, the jury elaborated on their decision to choose “Catch the Rabbit”: There is a generation of young authors mainly from the Balkan area, who work on innovative forms of storytelling, able to represent contradictions and aporias of the new Europe. Lana Bastašić belongs to this group of storytellers children of war. The “on the road” novel, narrating the friendship between Sara and Lejla, becomes a clear metaphor of an estrangement condition that, starting from a painful memory, is capable to represent large part of contemporary society.

The author decided to share her prize with her Italian translator, Elisa Copetti, stating that “we don't appreciate literary translators as we should”.

The video of the entire ceremony is available on YouTube here.

The award ceremony at Teatro Odeon in Latisana, Italy.

“Catch the Rabbit” shortlisted for Italian Premio Latisana per il Nord-Est

28° Premio Letterario Internazionale “Latisana per il Nord-Est”


Martedì 31 agosto alle ore 11.00, nella Sala Pasolini del Palazzo della Regione di Udine, si è tenuta la conferenza stampa di annuncio dei finalisti del Premio Narrativa e del vincitore del Premio Territorio Coop Alleanza 3.0:


Lana Bastašić, Afferra il coniglio (Nutrimenti)

Romina Casagrande, I bambini di Svevia (Garzanti)

Paolo Malaguti, Se l’acqua ride (Einaudi)

La cerimonia di premiazione, durante la quale verrà proclamato il vincitore del Premio Narrativa, avrà luogo sabato 11 settembre alle ore 20.30 nel Teatro Odeon di Latisana e sarà trasmessa in streaming sul canale YouTube del Premio.

Obbligo di certificazione verde e di prenotazione contattando la biblioteca.


The European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) recognises emerging fiction writers from across Europe. During a cycle of three years, the award includes 41 countries participating in the Creative Europe programme – an initiative aiming at strengthening Europe’s cultural and creative sectors. The EUPL was launched in 2009, and since then it has recognised 122 writers, through 11 editions.

The 2020 laureate for each country was selected by a national jury of literary experts. Due to the Coronavirus outbreak, the announcement of the winners was made digitally for the first time since the Prize was launched in 2009. The winning books and authors were revealed in a video published on 19 May 2020 at noon on the EUPL website and social media channels.

The winning laureates received congratulatory messages from the European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, Ms Mariya Gabriel, and the Minister of Culture of the Republic of Croatia, Ms Nina Obuljen Koržinek.

In her announcement, Commissioner Gabriel said: “In the current crisis we rely more than ever on artists and authors to help us cope with the isolation of confinement. Reading is a powerful way to feel strong emotions, be transported to a different universe in time and space, and meet new characters, all while staying at home. Congratulations to all this year’s winners of the European Prize for Literature!”.

Source: https://www.euprizeliterature.eu/news/european-union-prize-literature-announces-2020-laureates