“Catch the Rabbit” Selected for Indies Introduce

“Catch the Rabbit” has been selected for the Indies Introduce debut picks of the season in the USA. Two panels of booksellers chose the Indies Introduce titles—10 adult and 10 children’s—as the best of the Summer / Fall 2021 debuts. Publishers offer special terms on these books just for participating indie booksellers.

Here is what the booksellers who nominated it had to say about the novel:

“Amazing, heart-wrenching, wondrous. A years-spanning story of an intense friendship and how history (you know, wars and stuff) weighs on people's bonds. More than a decade ago, Sara left Bosnia, never to return. Now, drawn back by a long-lost childhood friend, she’s on a road trip through the Western Balkans, her own past, and a landscape scarred by social and political violence. Bastašić wrestles questions of obligation and understanding into one woman’s deeply personal reckoning. What do we owe the people who’ve shaped us, who taught us how to feel alive? What we know (and un-know) of our friends, our histories, and ourselves? It’s a story of how a person can misunderstand her friend and herself and then be completely wrecked and rebuilt as she grows to a new understanding of her world. Prepare to be split in two. WOW!” -Chris Lee, Boswell Book Company, Milwaukee, WI

“Sara and Lejla remind us that slipping back into an old friendship is the most comfortable and impossible thing to do. With too much shared and not enough spoken, Catch the Rabbit holds the truth of how growing up and coming of age are two separate events, neither of which anyone really does with grace, or without pain.” -Carrie Koepke, Skylark Bookshop, Columbia, MO

“A compelling story about a complex female friendship. Two estranged friends go on a Thelma and Louise-style road trip across Bosnia in search of one friend's brother (presumed dead from the Bosnian War). For readers of Ferrante's Neapolitan Quartet and any who has had intense childhood friendships.” -Audrey Huang, Belmont Books, Belmont, MA

Saša Stanišić Reviews “Fang den Hasen” for Die Zeit

Lejla und Sara sind unterwegs, in einem maroden Opel Astra über den Balkan, mit Wien als Ziel. Sie überqueren die Grenze nach Österreich und rasten an einem See. Am Ufer spielen zwei Mädchen, auf jene versunkene Weise in ihre Kindheit vertieft, die ahnen lässt: Die Freude und Unbeschwertheit werden kippen, das Spiel wird kippen, etwas verloren gehen, vernichtet werden. – KEEP READING HERE

OUT NOW: German Edition of “Catch the Rabbit”

S. Fischer Verlag have just brought out the German edition of the novel “Catch the Rabbit”, translated by Rebekka Zeinzinger and edited by Teresa Puetz.

»Eine europäische Literatur, [die] vollbringt, was hervorragende Literatur vollbringen sollte – uns hoffen lassen, dass sich Wunder erfüllen. Lana Bastašićs Geschichten müssen erzählt werden.« Saša Stanišić

FULL REVIEW IN GERMAN

Als junge Mädchen waren sie unzertrennlich, obwohl sie gegensätzlicher nicht sein könnten: Lejla, die Schamlose, Unbändige. Sara, die besonnene Tochter des Polizeichefs. Eine zwiespältige Nähe aus Befremden und Anziehung. Eine außergewöhnliche Freundschaft, die plötzlich zerfiel wie das Land, in dem sie aufwuchsen. 12 Jahre ist es her, als Sara Bosnien verließ, um an einem besseren Ort ein neues Leben zu beginnen. 12 Jahre absoluter Funkstille, als ein Anruf sie in die verlorene Heimat zurückbringt. Die Rückkehr wird kein harmloses Wiedersehen zweier Kindheitsfreundinnen.
Mit einer fesselnden Sprache zwischen rebellischem Trotz und beißender Komik erzählt Bosniens aufregender Literatur-Shootingstar Lana Bastašić in »Fang den Hasen« von einer außergewöhnlichen Freundschaft in den Wirren der jugoslawischen Geschichte – ausgezeichnet mit dem Literaturpreis der Europäischen Union 2020.

Gostovanje u Žiška podcastu

ŽIŠKA: Književnica Lana Bastašić pustila nas je da zavirimo u njen stvaralački proces. Od nje ćeš naučiti puno o pisanju ali i konačno saznati da li je Uhvati zeca detektivski roman, ili pak priručnik za lovce kao i to da li je zeca moguće uhvatiti, u svakom smislu. Njenu novu zbirku pripovedaka Mliječni zubi, kao i roman Uhvati zeca u izdanju Booka knjižara, možeš kupiti u svim snabdevenijim knjižarama.

(Pogledajte razgovor klikom na sliku gore.)

ŽIŠKA podkast možeš pratiti i na:

Google Podcasts: https://bit.ly/377pPbv

Spotify: https://spoti.fi/3j0HWlU

iTunes: https://apple.co/2SUHiMj

Deezer: https://bit.ly/31p0kPx

RSS: https://bit.ly/3lLPgnc

Soundcloud: https://bit.ly/379V7ie

YouTube: https://bit.ly/33Yp8zk

Produkcija: http://www.ziska.rs